ok quickly before i sleep. a few funny things this week:
- not sure where he got them, but little monkey has the best manners. i'm proud of him, but more than that, it's crazy to me that the "training" he's received to use good manners is sticking. for the past few weeks, whenever someone does something for him... even something as simple as buckling him into his car seat, it's "thank you berry much." we've been talking a lot about people's personal space and each person's need for privacy. he often says, "abba need privacy. umma need privacy. jacob need privacy too. teki need privacy [babysitter who we interviewed once. he reached into her shirt and we told him she needs her privacy. this was almost a month ago]." i think sometimes he says this when he has an urge to reach into my shirt... something he finds comforting. he'll also very often say "pwease," without being prompted. whenever we say goodbye to people, he says "hab a good day!" such a loving, sweet boy.
- earlier today, i found him on a pretend phone, seriously and matter-of-factly scribbling something into my notebook with a pen. i realized i was doing just that some 15-20 min beforehand. it was so cute because he didn't care whether or not i noticed what he did. he was serious about taking down some information. so impressionable. man, gotta be careful.
- love his 2-year-old language. often, he'll blend intelligible words with jibber jabber, creating long sentences. sad to think this will be replaced with truly intelligible streams of thought and paragraphs soon. trying to stop and enjoy it all.
- lastly, he's now singing the entire alphabet song. i've known that he's known the whole thing even when he'd chime in at the end of stanzas. but now, he doesn't miss a letter, although some of them are still pronounced in his way cute, 2-year-old way. for example, "w" is "..... (UPDATE THIS. ASK JACOB!). kills me every time. he sung it in its entirety for daddy tonight for the first time. abba was so proud of his son.
goodnight and goodbye.
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
Wednesday, May 11, 2011
comedian in the making?
are all kids this funny or am i becoming "that" mom? the mom who thinks their child is the funniest, most clever, cutest, etc? okay, i think my child is smart and cute and sweet... but every mom must think that about their own kids. i have to say though... monkey has truly inherited a great sense of humor. his language has been blossoming the past few months and he's been saying some funny, surprising things. some of these things show what a horrible parent i am... but they're nonetheless cute and amusing.
monkey's bff's mom and i have been sharing the new, crazy things our boys say. we both agree that we should jot these things down so we don't forget our funny, impressionable 2-year-olds.
so here i go.
- the other day, hubs asked monkey if he pooped. monkey says, "yeah." probably tired from a long day of work and hoping monkey doesn't know what he's talking about he asks again, "did you poop?" monkey says, "yeah!" hubs peeks into his pull up and what do you know? no poop. hubs tells monkey, "you didn't poop! you just farted." monkey says, "JOKING!"
(where does he get this stuff?)
monkey's bff's mom and i have been sharing the new, crazy things our boys say. we both agree that we should jot these things down so we don't forget our funny, impressionable 2-year-olds.
so here i go.
- the other day, hubs asked monkey if he pooped. monkey says, "yeah." probably tired from a long day of work and hoping monkey doesn't know what he's talking about he asks again, "did you poop?" monkey says, "yeah!" hubs peeks into his pull up and what do you know? no poop. hubs tells monkey, "you didn't poop! you just farted." monkey says, "JOKING!"
(where does he get this stuff?)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)